Learn To Thoughtfully Express The ‘Acts Of Service’ Love Language In These 5 Ways

Photo by Marcelo Matarazzo

I love the concept of love languages, especially the Acts of Service love language, maybe because that is one of the main love languages I speak.

Knowing yours and your partner’s love languages really help in understanding the way you both drive your love life together. It is essential in recognizing the levels of each language you speak and how they vary. Being confident of your love languages and working towards maintaining a balance among all of them is what is crucial for a healthy relationship.

In case you don’t know what a love language is and what the five main love languages are, here’s some information on it.

A love language is a way of giving and receiving love. According to Dr Gary Chapman, who has written a series of books The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, there are five major love languages –

  1. Receiving gifts
  2. Quality time
  3. Words of affirmation
  4. Acts of service
  5. Physical touch

If you haven’t taken the test to know your love language, go do it now and know what your major love language is! And if it is Acts of Service, like mine, then here are some really thoughtful ways of expressing your love to your partner.

  1. Small acts of thoughtfulness

If you observe carefully the little things your partner is particular about, or takes interest in and show love in small acts of thoughtfulness, they will really appreciate it and feel loved. Maybe your partner likes being organized. You could do a special morning where you make sure their things are ready and in place, before they head out to work – getting breakfast ready for them, laying out their work clothes on the bed, packing lunch, etc.

  1. Ask for feedback

The best way to show love is to ask your partner what makes them feel loved and implement it. Ask your partner what makes them feel special and loved and what you should do differently. Incorporate that in your daily communication with them.

  1. Implement

Now you know what makes your partner feel loved. Get creative and surprise them with interesting ways of showing that love in the way they like it! It is definitely going to make them feel special and they are going to notice the efforts you’re putting in.

  1. Never take criticism personally

Problems can come up and there can be clashes. But don’t get all defensive. If there is something you can do about it, then act maturely and process the problem with possible solutions. Think of gestures and actions that you can implement to make you and your partner feel better.

  1. Ask questions

Since you are big on service and you show your love in doing things for your partner, the best way to keep the love alive is to ask questions to be able to do things better for them. If you’re on your way to the supermarket, ask them if they need anything from there. If they seem stressed with work, ask if there is any way you can help. Maybe a lemonade would help.

These acts of service will make your partner feel really loved and will cherish you more, with every passing day. They will know how much you care for them and will trust you and find the best comfort in you. They will reciprocate the love and that will bring you joy.

8 Ways To Celebrate Your Relationship, Creatively
Photo by Andrik Langfield


Your Attachment Style Shows How You Function In Your Relationship

Your Attachment Style Shows How You Function In Your Relationship

She Used Her Cousin’s Hand For Engagement Photo Because Her Nails Weren’t Done

She Used Her Cousin’s Hand For Engagement Photo Because Her Nails Weren’t Done